I Like It

It’s laughable–what I’d

do to avoid starting the

writing process.

I find myself way off

in the far reaches of the

cosmos

until I come back to my

page–blankety-blank.

Empty as old mother

hubbard’s cupboard

now living in a shoe.

When you’re bestowed

a prize, a gift,

you say “Thank You.”

So I’m saying thank you

for the gift of today.

No other day is

guaranteed.

But steps in the right

direction were taken

today–a productive

direction–and I’m

grateful I landed here,

now.

It’s like I moved out of

my skin and left my

old self behind.

I don’t ever want to

return.

I like being freed–

it’s kind of scary–

but I like it,

anyway.

2V00492L

Photograph © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: courage, growth, now, Poetry, Uncategorized, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

