Fun & Adventure

V03026D-1

What brings me joy?

I love to escape

in books–I always have.

Comic books when I

was a kid.

Sunflower seeds &

licorice were my

staples as I

nervously cracked

& read, piling up

shell casings

on a napkin on

my bedspread,

only getting up

to empty it when

it was full to more

than it would hold,

I was so engrossed

in my reading.

Cartoon characters

& some other

cowboy-type

heros inspired

me–Crusader

Rabbit came on

at dinner time

and I wouldn’t

miss it so we

had a T.V. in the

kitchen–and

Paladin, were

among my favorites

when we were one

of the first to have a

television in our

neighborhood.

My cousin read

the newspaper–

didn’t interest me–

I wanted fun, fantasy

and adventure.

Today is a grown-up

version of all that–

nose in a book,

adventure and risks,

creatively seeing

what’s possible–

scaring myself beyond

comfort, more often

than I signed up for.

Photograph © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

 

Categories: busyness, creative, creative writing, fun, learning, love, Poetry, possibilities, risk, shy, Uncategorized, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

