Getting Away

backpacking3-370

I often enjoyed being alone

in a quiet area–the woods,

the library, or just a good

bunch of comic books, were

my favorites when I was a kid.

Being alone with my thoughts

on long walks, calmed me down,

and returned me to myself.

Leaving the busy world behind

for one of imagination

and daydreaming, helped

order my disheveled thinking,

and did wonders for my peace

of mind.

Turning around to head back,

even though I was far away

from home,

was disheartening, when the

thought of returning to what

I had momentarily freed myself

from, was looming ahead.

I always wished I could go

further, but time and energy

cut short my fun.

I never missed my friends.

I always had myself.

Photograph Nicki Frates © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

 

Categories: creative writing, fresh air, friends, fun, love, nature, outside, Poetry, sunshine, Uncategorized, walking, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

