Taking the Plunge

V06102DL-4

Looking up at Rainbow Eucalyptus (Eucalyptus deglupta). Keanae Arboretum. Maui, Hawaii

I so want to dip my toe in the water.

I remember swimming in a cold

mountain lake.

You have to force yourself to go in the

water and then you swim like heck

to shake off the shock of cold.

Then you’re not cold anymore.

You’re not as warm as on the

beach in the sun

but there’s a raft to climb up on

as your reward for the cold swim.

If you never go in the water

a tan–if you’re lucky–is all you’ll

bag from the day at the beach.

I want to wade into a relationship.

Higher stakes, for sure.

I just haven’t had the courage

to take the next step toward

the unknown.

My imagination only serves me

when it serves me.

Keeping me nailed to the

ground does not serve me.

I need to be free to move

into & out of relationships

that appear promising or not.

Window shopping, pretending,

only go so far.

Pretty soon you have to

buy some new clothes.

Photograph © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: courage, friends, people, Poetry, risk, spontaneous, timing, Uncategorized, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

