My “Other” Voice

My body is reticent,

my spirit, restless.

Once I get going,

I wonder why I ever

doubted the value

of a daily, quiet

walk–the further

away from people

the better!

I am fortunate.

I need to be with

myself, alone

and intimate.

Purple flowers at sunset. Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

Purple flowers at sunset. Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

We have a talk,

of sorts.

Somebody’s talking

and somebody’s

listening/

answering–

a virtual dialogue

coming out of the

same mouth &

brain–two

distinct voices!

I haven’t figured

this one out yet,

but something, or

someone, is much

wiser and calmer

than “I” am

inside–that’s

the other voice.

I listen intently.

It’s usually “right”,

and it resides in

my gut feelings.

Photograph © Nicki Frates, Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: awareness, best buddies, fresh air, friends, fun, nature, outside, Poetry, Uncategorized, walking, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

