Brave

Brave is what I aspire to

always,

falling short

I disappoint myself,

yet be forgiving

once I right my ship.

I want to open.

I always have.

Now I’m braver,

more willing to

walk into the arrows.

I don’t even know

who’s in there, inside

of me.

How I feel, what I

think.

I didn’t want an

arrow through the

heart–surely a fatal

blow.

Knowing I could do

better & not,

explains some of the

hardness I suffered

at my own hands.

Not excusable, still.

There’s nowhere to run.

No where to hide.

I don’t even want

to try to pull the rip

cord anymore.

I’m willing to go

down with my ship

as a faithful captain.

Categories: creative writing, Poetry, Uncategorized, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

