Who are We?

You send lightning through

my veins and into the ground.

I’m starstruck emotionally

on your deep level of emotions.

I forget my name in lesser

circumstances.

I’m loaded for bear but

chipmunks appear.

I don’t trust myself with

others coming from that

vulnerable heart space.

You’re gentle, yet perceptive

striking deep into my

emotions.  We’re somehow

plugged in.  I don’t

feel the need to protect myself

so much with you–to

be someone I’m not.

I’m standing on a tenuous

precipice, yet I have no

choice but to trust.

I want to show others

who I show you.

I don’t know if they’d

care.

Or even if I would.

Large Wood Nymph butterfly (Cercyonis pegala). Near the Snake River. Oregon

Large Wood Nymph butterfly (Cercyonis pegala). Near the Snake River. Oregon

Categories: creative writing, friends, openness, Poetry, real, risk, Uncategorized, visibility | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

