Hello

Met a bartender running.

So I walked with him

for a mile-

him in his shoes

me in mine.

Although we exchanged

foot coverings for a while

I at least got a feel

for how his fit.

I wanted to break them in

more than just trying

them on.

He was friendly as you’d

expect a bartender to be.

Easy to be with.  Sort of

a bouncing board for

my ideas & comments.

Our lives touched as

the teetotaler I am

wouldn’t otherwise.

We met a friend of his

on the trail momentarily.

She had a beautiful dog

and personality.

I saw her again

on the way back.

She was a receptacle

for my joy–also

one who served people–

a waitress.

My runs are never

uneventful–

on a lonely, cold raining

day.

Categories: clouds, creative, creative writing, fresh air, friends, nature, outside, people, Poetry, running, surprise, Uncategorized, walking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

