Relax & Enjoy

I feel like a blinking light.

Sometimes on and sometimes off.

It’s like I don’t have any control,

or say in the matter, over these

errant thoughts that just “sneak up

on me!” and there they are.

I don’t want to feel that negativity

& painful agonizing disasterizing.

But left to my own wits, these

thoughts along with attendant

feelings emerge.

When too much happens around

me, I get disoriented and lose my

focus, my feeble direction.

Confusion reigns along with brain

fog–the twin brothers.

I can slow down but more things

pop up and like a parasite,

extract any energy I have

available to try & remedy

their insistent call.

When all the time, all I want

is to disengage for a while

until my sights, my bearings

are restored.

Then maybe I can go

forward with some sanity,

some resoluteness of

purpose.

But yay all that eludes me

in the fray of excessive

activity without plenty

of breaks to relax & enjoy

life.

Full moonset over Teton Mountains. Grand Teton National Park, WY

Full moonset over Teton Mountains. Grand Teton National Park, WY

Photography © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: creative writing, Poetry, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

