The Mirror Knows

PA0074DL

I see the mirror

looking back at

me.

Not happy with what

it sees.

So, I ask it:   “Why

are you unhappy?”

It says, you disappoint

me when you live

your day in fear.

I am sad for you

because of that.

I want to please

the mirror–every-

one, actually.

So, I overdo my

welcome trying

to be popular.

Maybe I could just

be myself.

What a novel idea.

Fear would have

to go.

I know.

So banish it

& charge forward

to a new day

and a new mirror

response to the

newer you.

OK.  I’ll try.

v00236m

Bleeding Heart Vine, Glory Bower Clerodendrum thomsoniae. Crystal Garden, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.

Photography © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: creative writing, Poetry, possibilities, Uncategorized, vision | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

