A Cloud

The cloud only lasts a while.

It’s on its way

to other realms

of invisible existence.

It performed its

function

for dreamers to fantasize

in the grass

shape shifting into

a menagerie of

animals

wispily gone in an

instant

and transformed into

another creature.

What shall I be today?

the cloud muses.

I’m a character of

many.

Who I am is up

for debate

everyone arguing

a mouse, a rabbit

no one really getting

it right it moves

so quickly onto

its next performance.

Cloud formations and sand dunes. Mesquite Dunes, Death Valley National Park, CA

Cloud formations and sand dunes. Mesquite Dunes, Death Valley National Park, CA

Photography © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

Categories: creative writing, Poetry, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Cloud

  1. I like the “what shall I be today?”. Made me smile:)

  2. Somehow those words came out when I was trying to think of other words I couldn’t remember–like the cloud-here one minute gone the next. Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

