Friendship

I want a friend.  One with feelings.  Laughing

is required as is a sense of humor.  A ready

laugh is important–the ability to enjoy

fully & outwardly a moment with another.

Being passionate about similar things,

not holding back the sharing of those “in

common”.

Someone who is willing to discuss options

and compromise occasionally.  Someone

who doesn’t always have to have it their

own way all the time.

You know when you’re with such an

‘easy’ friend.  They’re not wishy-washy,

nor are they stubbornly one-minded,

leaving you out of the equation almost

entirely.

Maybe I ask too much these days of “doing

your own thing”.  Maybe.  But I remember

when friends negotiated.  Where one

wasn’t stronger or more influential

than the other when decisions & choices

were made.

Not to give up, or in to, your values, just to

be a friend who likes to laugh & have fun

and enjoy many of the same things

together.

Maybe I’m picking the “wrong” friends

or I need more of them to meet my

needs.  I know who I’m interested in

spending more time with when I

meet them.  And all my requirements

may not be met but a lot of the

important ones will.

Categories: best buddies, creative writing, friends, fun, humor, people, Poetry, Uncategorized, writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

