Clarity

I choose to follow my heart

as clouded & muddled as it seems

most times

instead of my fear.

A stepping out in faith

even as a forest of anxiety

must be traversed

to get out of the woods.

I’d like to go around

the thickets of my life–

there must be a trail

–even well-worn by

the populace–that would

serve me better.  This

thrashing about making

my own way is really not

all that necessary and a

lot of work!

Stopping usually

sets me right again.

All the fear has to be unlearned.

Someone did me a big

disservice by teaching

me to be afraid when I

was too young to know

any better & mostly unnecessary.

I was just playing out

others anxieties

and now they’re not easy

to uproot & discard.

Still my heart knows–

yea or nay & I can trust

it’s clarity or cloudiness–

whatever comes.

Categories: creative writing, Poetry, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

