A Tree

If I was a tree I don’t know

if I’d grow so big as to not fit in the

forest without standing out so

conspicuously that everyone always

looked at me when they walked by,

I was so noticeable.

So, I might consider growing to

just ‘average’ height so I’d

blend in and be a part of the

forest & feel like I belonged to

something bigger than myself.

Sometimes, I’ve been watered so

intensively and been planted in

the best sun spot that my growing

took off into the sky unrestricted

& unrestrained.

I was destined, determined to be

the tallest, widest, most dense,

beautiful tree in the forest.

V04660DL

Redwoods with path and big leaf maple tree in fall color. Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park, California

No one could come up to my

height & join my primo

basking ability.

Still in all, I was still a tree

and just because I was big

didn’t mean there wasn’t

a place for me in the

forest.

I’ll wait, happily growing

bigger & see who sits in my

shade, climbs my branches

for a better view and puts me

in their photographs the most.

 

Photography © Dennis Frates Photography  http://www.fratesphoto.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: creative, creative writing, freedom, fresh air, friends, Poetry, rain, sunshine, Uncategorized, visibility, writing | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Tree

  1. Amazing poem! Creative and interesting.

    We have started living in a world where something is missing. What is the remedy? Find out more in my poem “A Golden Heart” to reveal the superficiality of our lives at
    https://akashsingh2017.wordpress.com/2017/06/06/a-golden-heart/
    Hope you will like it 🙂 Don’t forget to leave a comment as it’s very valuable 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

